NYWEA Awards Committee Members

Jacob Kocic

Chair

Karen Clark

Lisa Derrigan

Joseph Fiegl

Paige Gilliam

Michael Manning

Melissa Motyl

Olga Mubarak

Malak Shafik

Brian Skidmore

NYWEA Executive Office

Khris Dodson

Maggie Hoose

Celebrating Our 2024Water Superheros





97TH ANNUAL MEETING
NYC MARRIOTT MARQUIS
FEBRUARY 5, 2025

Congratulations to all of our 2024 Awardees!

The NYWEA awards program is made possible thanks to the dedicated members of the Awards Committee, led by Chair Jacob Kocic (see back page for members). We are thankful for their hard work and commitment to making sure our members are recognized.



A special thank you goes out to all of our NYWEA members and colleagues who took the time to submit nominations for our fellow water sector professionals.

Association Service Awards

Student Chapter Service Award

Xin Yi (Abbie) Cheong

Outstanding Student Service Award

Sarah Pineandi

Jane Ork Award

Robert Ostapczuk

John Chester Brigham Award

Lisa Melville

John Chester Brigham Award

Nancy Vigneault

Robert M. MacCrea Award

Craig Moore

Young Professionals Service Award

Hannah Sheehan

Beneficial Use of Biosolids Award

Village of Endicott

City of Lockport WWTP Composting Facility

Environmental Engineer Award

Jesse Semanchik

Municipal Achievement Award

City of Binghamton and Johnson City

Nelson A. Rockefeller Award

William Conrad

Hall of Fame Award

John Fortin

Ernest R. Carroll Safety Award

Edward Wright

Wastewater Facility Operations Awards

Collection System Operator Award

Joseph Miraglia

Milton T. Hill Award

Kiah Miller

Outstanding Operator of the Year Award

Philip Grayson

Outstanding Operator of the Year Award

Jay Irwin

Uhl T. Mann Award

Maintenance 10.1 - 50 MGD

Peter Monico

Uhl T. Mann Award

Operations 10.1 - 50 MGD

Andrey Malkov

Uhl T. Mann Award

Maintenance 50+ MGD

Anthony Ruggiero

Uhl T. Mann Award
Operations 50+ MGD

Kevin McCormick

Committee Service Awards

Awards Committee

Brian Skidmore

DE&I Committee

Michelle Hess

DE&I Committee

Walter Walker

Committee Service Awards (Cont.)

Asset Management Committee

Daniel Capano

YP Committee

Noelle Sawicki

Board Service Awards

YP State Board Representative

Sara Sepulveres

Metropolitan Chapter

Representative

Gregory Shaw, Jr.

Operator Certification

Governance Council

Daniel O'Sullivan

Operator Certification

Governance Council

Alan Oates

Outgoing President

Lisa J. Derrigan 2024

Incoming President

Daniel Rourke 2025

WEF Awards

Arthur Sidney Bedell Award Roberta "Robbie" Gaiek

Life Membership

John Fortin

Life Membership

Richard Roll

Life Membership

Bruce Munn

Life Membership
Paul Joseph Drof

Quarter Century Operator

Richard Izzo

Lucy Grassano Awardees

Capital Chapter

Dean Ellington

Albany County Water
Purification District

Central Chapter

Jeffrey Duke

Village of Owego

Jeffrey Utegg

Livingston County Water and Sewer Authority

Genesee Valley Chapter

Long Island Chapter

Frank Ferro
Suffolk County

Lower Hudson Chapter Brandon Jabbour

Westchester County DEF

Western Chapter
Stephen O'Connell
Buffalo Sewer Authority

Metropolitan Chapter

Christos Pipelias NYC DEP

Long Standing Members

20 Years

David Barnes

Ravi Basant Phillip Campisi

Daniel Capano Allen Deur

Jane Gajwani

Lawrence Greenberg

Eric Haslam

Michael Hershelman

Angela Horton Christopher Kelly

Carl Lagasca Gregory Levasseur **Long Standing Members** (Cont.)

20 Years

Jean Malafronte Jeremy Meerdink

Peter Pesaresi William Pfrang

Kevin Quinn Michael Reichel

Pau Rush

Matthew Scheiner

David Snyder

John Story Michael Walker

Lawrence Wang

Allen Winchell Brian Wirta

30 Years Edward Barboe

Samuel Case

Christopher Fry Gregory Jager

Viktor Levin Joseph Marturano

A. Scott McFarland John Perriello

Michael Sandor

40 Years

Richard Cotugno

Frederick Di Risio

Steven Hearl Theresa Heneveld

Alfonso Lopez Michael Smith

50 Years

Francis Bridges Steven Fangmann

Libby Ford

Joseph Fioraliso

Robert Kukenberger Rengachari Srinivasaraghavan

60 Years

Henry Chlupsa George Krupa

Jerry Lastihenos Edwin Polese

We are proud of all the work our awardees do to improve the water sector and protect human health and the environment.

Thank you for setting a high standard that serves as an inspiration to our membership!